DECEMBER 23, 2014

VFW Post 9400 announces the winners of this year’s Voice of Democracy, Patriot’s Pen and Citizenship Education Teacher Awards

Bookmark and Share

vfdw winners Winners of this year’s Voice of Democracy and Patriot’s Pen awards (l-r):  Maya Scripter; Alyssa Tappendorf, Ronnie Hurt, David Jutzi, Zach Carlson, Caroline James, Rachel Powell

Each year Post 9400 of the Veterans of Foreign Wars, as part of a nationwide competition, conducts an audio/written essay contests for students in high school and middle school as well as an award recognizing an outstanding elementary, middle or high school teacher.
The Voice of Democracy program requires entrants to write and record a three to five minutes script on a patriot theme.  “Why Veterans are Important to our Nations’ History and Future” was this year’s theme.

The Patriot’s Pen essay writing contest is a worldwide competition that gives students in grades 6, 7 and 8 the opportunity to write a 300-400 word theme-based essay expressing
their views on democracy. This year’s theme was “Why I Appreciate America’s Veterans”.

The Citizenship Education Teacher Award recognizes a top classroom teacher who integrates citizenship education topics into their lesson plans and actively promotes America’s history and traditions.

The 1st place winner in each category will advance to the city-wide competition.  If successful, will advance to the state and national competitions.

This year’s competition was extremely competitive.  The post received nearly 50 entries.  Each winner was presented with their award by the Post and Women’s Auxiliary Commanders at a dinner held at Post 9400 on December 12th.

For more information regarding the Voice of Democracy, Patriot’s Pen or Teacher Award please contact Tom Landy at or call 602-295-4394.

This year’s award recipients:

Citizenship Educational Teacher Award
Ronnie Hurt;  Central High School

Voice Of Democracy
1st Place – Zach Carlson; Sunnyslope High School
2nd Place – Caroline James; Xavier College Prep
3rd Place – Rachel Powell; Powell Acad. Of Home Learning

Patriot’s Pen
1st Place – David Jutzi; Madison Meadows
2nd Place – Alyssa Tappendorf; Tappendorf Crhistian Academy
3rd Place – Maya Scripter; Vista Verde Middle School