MAY 1, 2013

Cave Creek school one of 28 to earn A+ School of Excellence™ Award from Arizona Educational Foundation

Bookmark and Share

PHOENIX – The Arizona Educational Foundation (AEF) announced today that 28 Arizona public schools earned the coveted A+ School of Excellence™ award for the 2012-2013 academic year.
Since 1983, AEF has honored exemplary pre-kindergarten through 12th grade public schools in Arizona with this program which gives recognition to outstanding public schools, and strives to create a comprehensive framework of successful programs and practices that other schools throughout the state and nation might adopt. 

Lone Mountain Elementary School in the Cave Creek Unified District is a 2013 A+ School of Excellence winner. Nancy Shaver is principal.

“The A+ School of Excellence™ celebrates outstanding schools throughout Arizona and brings to light the positive stories and successes happening in public schools every day,” explained AEF Executive Director, Bobbie O’Boyle. “We applaud these schools for doing whatever it takes to meet their students’ needs and achieving overall success despite some of the challenges that face the education community statewide.”

Applicant schools are evaluated in the areas of student focus and support, school culture, active teaching and learning, curriculum, leadership, community and parent involvement and assessment data. 

Recognition from this program can help increase public confidence in public schools while also generating higher local funding and creating greater parent and community involvement. Schools receive $500 and a banner designating it as an A+ School of Excellence™ winner. All staff and faculty at the award-winning schools will be eligible for partial scholarships from Argosy University Phoenix. The award is valid for three and a half years. 

For additional information on the 2013 A+ School of Excellence program or to learn more about and support the Arizona Educational Foundation’s programs, visit