Black Mountain Photo Contest winners announced

April 14, 2010

| More

best in show winner of black mountain photo contestDon Sorchych, Publisher and Editor of Sonoran News, assisted by Sonia Perillo, Executive Director of the Desert Foothills Land Trust and Stacy Fischer, DFLT Photo Contest Committee member, presented the Black Mountain Photo Contest awards at a reception Friday evening at the Desert Foothills Library. Joanne Rebollo, Debbie Maurer and Andreas Schmalz also served on the Photo Contest Committee, chaired by Pat Patterson.

Rebollo, in her welcome and introductory remarks, invited Contest Judges Alan Lowry, Don Asakawa and Jerry Sieve to explain the challenge in determining this years winners out of 92 entries.

first place winner of black mountain photo contest, richard weber2010 Black Mountain Photo Contest
Awards went to:
Best in Show – Paula Durham
First Place – Richard Weber
Second Place – John Dubac
Third Place – Patrick O’Malley
Fourth Place – Owen Rhodes
Fifth Place – Andreas Schmalz
Sixth Place – Girish Pathangey
Honorable Mentions – Jacquelyn Appell, Thomas Baker, Brandi Bowman, Dena Johnson, Thomas McGuire, Linda Sakane
Honorable Mention (Vertical) – Lucas McQuiston
People's Choice Award – Thomas McGuire

black mountain photo contest people's choice winner by thmaos mcguireThe People’s Choice Award Winner will be featured on the cover of the 2011 Black Mountain Photo Contest Calendar, which will be available in November. Other winners and honorable mentions will be featured inside the calendar.

Sonoran News is pleased to co-sponsor the annual Black Mountain Photo Contest.