Four incumbents headed for May 19 run-off election

By Curtis Riggs | March 18, 2009

Only Coady, Miller, Stavoe elected
CAREFREE – Four town council incumbents finished last in the March 10 primary election and will be headed for the May 19 run-off along with fellow incumbent Greg Gardner and first-time challengers Peter Koteas and Susan Vanik.

Mayor Wayne Fulcher, Vice Mayor Lloyd Meyer and councilmen Bob Gemmill and David Schwan will be seeking one of the four open council seats on May 19.

Council incumbents Bob Coady, Glenn Miller and challenger Doug Stavoe were elected to the council last week.

Further evidence of the March 10 election being a rough one for council incumbents was Coady’s strong showing. Coady, a longtime thorn in the side of the rest of the council, finished with 800 votes and topped closest challenger Doug Stavoe by 131 votes.

The council’s pet proposition, Prop. 403, which would have doubled the length of council terms to four years, was soundly rejected by voters, 669 to 503.

There was 46 percent voter turnout on March 10 with 1,244 ballots cast. There are 2,693 registered voters in Carefree.

Coady credits his strong showing with voters being turned off by negative campaigns run against him.

Stavoe says it was because of the changing demographics in Carefree.

Fulcher and Meyer failed to return numerous phone calls.